Loading your recommendations…

Art Exhibit — "Anarchism and the Political Art of Les Temps Nouveaux, 1895 – 1914"

Organized around the social themes and aspirations that defined the politics of the anarchist movement, this exhibition addresses issues still relevant today, such as rural and industrial labor, the plight of the homeless, cross-border migration, child abuse among the clergy, opposition to war and antimilitarism, social revolution, and visions of a coming anarchist utopia. In addition to prints, Les Temps Nouveaux artists also publicized their call for a new society through postcards—an early example of “mail art”—and brochure and book illustrations, some of which served as educational tools for working-class children. In the process, they used graphic arts as innovative experimentation in a way that conveyed their message to a broad public. With a weekly circulation of up to 18,000 copies worldwide, Les Temps Nouveaux was the most important forum for collaboration between anarchists and progressive artists during this time.

Tu, W, F, Sa 10am-5pm, Th 10am-9pm (General admission is free from 5-9pm), Su Noon-5pm.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Wednesday, October 16
  • Thursday, October 17
  • Friday, October 18
  • Saturday, October 19
  • Sunday, October 20
  • Tuesday, October 22
  • Wednesday, October 23
  • Thursday, October 24
  • Friday, October 25
  • Saturday, October 26
  • Sunday, October 27
  • Tuesday, October 29
  • Wednesday, October 30
  • Thursday, October 31
  • Friday, November 1
  • Saturday, November 2
  • Sunday, November 3
  • Tuesday, November 5
  • Wednesday, November 6
  • Thursday, November 7
  • Friday, November 8
  • Saturday, November 9
  • Sunday, November 10
  • Tuesday, November 12
  • Wednesday, November 13
  • Thursday, November 14
  • Friday, November 15
  • Saturday, November 16
  • Sunday, November 17
  • Tuesday, November 19
  • Wednesday, November 20
  • Thursday, November 21
  • Friday, November 22
  • Saturday, November 23
  • Sunday, November 24
  • Tuesday, November 26
  • Wednesday, November 27
  • Thursday, November 28
  • Friday, November 29
  • Saturday, November 30
  • Sunday, December 1
  • Tuesday, December 3
  • Wednesday, December 4
  • Thursday, December 5
  • Friday, December 6
  • Saturday, December 7
  • Sunday, December 8
  • Tuesday, December 10
  • Wednesday, December 11
  • Thursday, December 12
  • Friday, December 13
  • Saturday, December 14
  • Sunday, December 15
  • 2001 Campus Dr
  • Durham, NC 27705
  • Location:
    Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University
  • Admission:
    $7, $5 seniors, $4 non-Duke students with ID
  • 919-684-5135
  • Website
  • Add to calendar: Ical, Google