Loading your recommendations…

Art Exhibit - "Circa 1960"


The period around 1960 was one of great artistic evolution in the United States. The long-standing influence exerted by Abstract Expressionism, a gestural type of painting and sculpture that emerged after World War II, was dwindling. Artists coming of age at this time perceived the style as mannered and academic and sought to distance themselves from its pervasive legacy. This resulted in a gradual shift in artistic approaches and philosophical attitudes. The works in this installation demonstrate both the lingering hallmarks of Abstract Expressionism and the precursors to these new artistic directions.

Frank Stella’s monumental Great Jones Street provides an example of the changing attitudes of younger artists. Though Stella retained some of the formal characteristics of Abstract Expressionism (large format and painterly qualities), he dispensed with the older generation’s desire to transmit an existential condition to the canvas. Instead, he wanted simply to “get the paint out of the can and onto the canvas” with as little inventiveness as possible. Philip Guston, central to Abstract Expressionism’s development, made a subtle but significant stylistic shift in Portrait I. At the center of the painting floats a large dark form that points to his forthcoming adoption of a cartoonish, figurative style. Al Held, Bruce Conner, Dorothy Dehner and many others participated in this rich transitional period, ultimately helping to move art in the United States in numerous directions.
Organized by Marshall N. Price, Ph.D., Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art.

Tu, W, F, Sa 10am-5pm, Th 10am-9pm (General admission is free from 5-9pm), Su Noon-5pm.

circa-1960-art-piece

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Wednesday, October 16
  • Thursday, October 17
  • Friday, October 18
  • Saturday, October 19
  • Sunday, October 20
  • Tuesday, October 22
  • Wednesday, October 23
  • Thursday, October 24
  • Friday, October 25
  • Saturday, October 26
  • Sunday, October 27
  • Tuesday, October 29
  • Wednesday, October 30
  • Thursday, October 31
  • Friday, November 1
  • Saturday, November 2
  • Sunday, November 3
  • Tuesday, November 5
  • Wednesday, November 6
  • Thursday, November 7
  • Friday, November 8
  • Saturday, November 9
  • Sunday, November 10
  • Tuesday, November 12
  • Wednesday, November 13
  • Thursday, November 14
  • Friday, November 15
  • Saturday, November 16
  • Sunday, November 17
  • Tuesday, November 19
  • Wednesday, November 20
  • Thursday, November 21
  • Friday, November 22
  • Saturday, November 23
  • Sunday, November 24
  • Tuesday, November 26
  • Wednesday, November 27
  • Thursday, November 28
  • Friday, November 29
  • Saturday, November 30
  • Sunday, December 1
  • Tuesday, December 3
  • Wednesday, December 4
  • Thursday, December 5
  • Friday, December 6
  • Saturday, December 7
  • Sunday, December 8
  • Tuesday, December 10
  • Wednesday, December 11
  • Thursday, December 12
  • Friday, December 13
  • Saturday, December 14
  • Sunday, December 15
  • Tuesday, December 17
  • Wednesday, December 18
  • Thursday, December 19
  • Friday, December 20
  • Saturday, December 21
  • Sunday, December 22
  • Tuesday, December 24
  • Wednesday, December 25
  • Thursday, December 26
  • Friday, December 27
  • Saturday, December 28
  • Sunday, December 29
  • Tuesday, December 31
  • Wednesday, January 1
  • Thursday, January 2
  • Friday, January 3
  • Saturday, January 4
  • Sunday, January 5
  • Tuesday, January 7
  • Wednesday, January 8
  • Thursday, January 9
  • Friday, January 10
  • Saturday, January 11
  • Sunday, January 12